Food Assembly German-style

Today my aunt took me to an event called Food Assembly. She told me she was meeting a lady in a café to probably sell some goats cheese every week. I didn’t really understand it.  

The event was in a small café called La Victoria, on the Bornheimer Strasse in Bonn. It looked nice and cosy and there were about 20 people when I got there, some of them dressed in what suspiciously looked like hand-knitted jumpers and hat. All very tree-huggerish as I would call it (although I can’t speak – based on my previous blog entry I seem to be turning into a tree hugger myself – with stylish ‘Outdoors UK’ clothing and pigtails, of course).  There was one cute American guy – I kept it strictly professional and didn’t even once mention Trump or the fact that trumping means farting in English. Not once. Although I really wanted to. 

The event was run by the lady who owns the café – I don’t recall her name. Participants were either people who wanted to sell food items (like my aunt) or people who wanted to buy said food. There was a baker, a lady who made fermented food (always a hit in Germany), a guy who made honey and mead, a guy who had just started a fish farm with his parents, plus my aunt and her goats cheese.  
When the Food Assembly concept was introduced, I finally understood what this was all about. It was a food box collection point. People can check a certain website, order whatever they want if offered by participating suppliers and once a week they are able to collect their ‘box’ from a café or the local pub (which used to be the collection place when I still lived in Crouch End). It all made sense now! 

I thought it was a really nice idea! Everybody seemed very excited about the concept and I found out it’s only been in existence for 3 years and this was the first time it’s been introduced in Bonn. The suppliers were enthusiastic albeit slightly apprehensive whether it’ll be worth the effort. I wish I could have told them that lots of people do this in London, but London isn’t Bonn so I wisely kept my mouth shut. The café lady was enthusiastic as well – not only does she get a small fee for offering her venue as collection point, I guess she may also find new customers that way. The tree huggers were excited as locally sourced food is the thing to eat at the moment.  

It was a great atmosphere and although I tried and stayed out of the way, not being a supplier or future customer, I managed to get some bread from the baker. Oh em gee, the Germans know how to make bread! I’ve missed it. So much. I didn’t know how much.  

Maybe I should become a baker!! German bread in England could be a niche market.  

Leave a Reply

